The Org Sharing dictionary is a new concept for Patient Sharing Organizations. The Patient Sharing Rules are needed to provide rules for Organizations to share or prevent sharing of patient records. Sharing Organizations— allows organizations to maintain a single patient record in more than one Organization. This allows access to the single patient record by all users of organizations in which the patient record exists. Non-sharing Organizations— allows organizations to maintain separate patient records even when an individual person exists as a patient in more than one organization. User can only access patient record data within organizations to which they belong.
NOTE: Even if the two Orgs are in the same sharing pool, a patient will only be available and shared if the patient has been registered in both Orgs.
- Patient 1 has an appt in Org 1 (Sharing Pool 1), so they have a record in Org 1. Org 2 (Sharing Pool 1) shares with Org 1. Patient has not been registered in Org 2, therefore, users in Org 2 will not be able to see Patient 1.
- Patient 2 has an appt in Org 1 (Sharing Pool 1), so they have a record in Org 1. Org 2 (Sharing Pool 1) shares with Org 1. Patient schedules appt with Org 2, and then the record for Patient 2 is shared between Org 1 and Org 2.
While setting up Internal Organizations in Org Set Up, the Org Sharing Pool column can be the name of a common Organization that is already defined. If an existing Organization name cannot be agreed upon to be the main pool name for the sharing organizations, the System Administrator could create a more common name for all sharing organizations in the Sharing Pool dictionary.
- Code - The Code is a unique identifier that must be supplied. This is not displayed in the product and is used for identification purposes only.
- Name - This is the name that will appear for the end users in the EHR application. This should be unique to prevent confusion.
- Mnemonic - This is not required, but it used as a secondary identifier. This does not appear in the product and unless you have another use for it, the recommendation would be to make this the same as the code.
- Inactive - The inactive flag allows you to inactivate or hide an entry. If an item is inactivated, users would not have the ability to select the allergen in the future, although any patients with the allergen defined would remain viewable.
- Enforced - The enforced flag designates whether a dictionary item is required and cannot be changed. In most cases, this comes predefined by Allscripts and should not be selected for new entries. If an entry is enforced, it cannot be modified or inactivated.